Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

 

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp IMG_1613

 Rhubarb, where have you been all my life? I consider myself to be an adventurous eater. I will try anything once, even if I don’t know what it is. But since rhubarb had never been put on a plate in front of me I never had the pleasure of enjoying its tangy awesomeness. Sorry, past 24 years of my life.

IMG_1532So while on our weekly trip to the farmer’s market I saw some rhubarb placed oh so strategically next to the strawberries. I told myself it was time to make a pie out of this historic pairing (by the way, did you know the New York declared rhubarb a fruit in 1947, even though it was traditionally considered a veggie? weird) My first venture turned out lovely and my husband and I ate the whole pie in a weekend.IMG_1607

The next time we went to the market, I snatched up some of the last harvest of strawberries and rhubarb and went home to find another delicious recipe to try. As always, Smitten Kitchen is my first stop when I am looking for inspiration. I found a sweet and simple crisp that I thought I had all the ingredients for. Throwing on my apron, I started my prep only to realize I did not have what I needed. After a tear was shed, I rummaged through my cabinets to find descent substitutes. Thankfully, what I had worked, because this was amazing. Served warm with some cool whip or ice cream this is an unbeatably refreshing dessert to top off a summer evening.  IMG_1610

Ingredients:

1 c oats (I used quick oats and it worked just fine)

3/4 c flour, plus additional 2 Tbl

1/2 c brown sugar

1/4 Tbl salt

6 Tbl butter, melted

1 Tbl lemon juice

1 Tbl granulated sugar

1 c small diced rhubarb

1 c sliced strawberries

Preheat oven to 375. Grease bottom of 8×8 pan. Place oats, 3/4 cup flour, brown sugar and salt in bottom of pan, mix and spread evenly. Pour the melted butter over the top and mix until clumps form. Set aside part of the crumb mixture and press the rest to the bottom of the pan. Mix sugar, lemon juice and fruit together. Spread evening over crumb mixture in pan. Top with reserved crumb mixture. Bake 30-40 minutes until golden on top and fruit is soft and bubbly. Top with ice-cream (obviously), and enjoy all the goodness of that heavenly mixture.

IMG_1616

recipe based on smitten kitchen’s recipe

Leave a Reply

