Baked Gnocchi With Bacon and Swiss

Comfort food means different things to people. For some it’s their mother’s cooking, or a decadent dish reserved for special occasions. It is usually reminiscent of a time when you felt at home or safe. Whenever I find a recipe that makes me feel that way, I write it down in permanent ink and put it safely in my recipe box. (do people even have recipe boxes anymore?)

20140723-210038-75638647.jpg

I have many comfort foods. Or maybe I just like food. Either way, gnocchi is about as good as it gets for me. Strangely enough, I had never tried gnocchi until I was pregnant with my second baby. And it wasn’t even great gnocchi, but Olive Garden’s chicken and gnocchi soup was about all I could stomach most of my pregnancy. We made countless treks through snow and ice to get to Olive Garden so that I could feast on their endless soup and salad lunch deal. Those were the good times.

20140723-210038-75638137.jpg

20140723-210037-75637680.jpg

I managed to whip up a decent batch of creamy gnocchi soup in my own kitchen last year, but hasn’t been brave enough to try anything else. Finally, after staring at the gnocchi in my pantry for several months I went hunting for a recipe that would do it justice.
I found a recipe I had pinned on my Pinterest board and thought it would was basic enough to tweak and make my own.  And let me tell you, it did not disappoint. I had a hard time putting my fork down over this one. Both boys cleared the plates and Nate assured me it amazingly delicious. Accompanied by some roasted green beans, this hearty meal is just perfect to hoard for yourself or share with guests.

20140723-210039-75639266.jpg

20140723-210039-75639708.jpg

Ingredients

1 box Gnocchi

1 28-oz can of diced tomatoes, drained

6 slices of bacon (I used some chicken bacon I had on hand)

Paprika

Garlic, chopped, or powder

Handful of cherry tomatoes, chopped

2 Tbl sour cream

Several slices of swiss or mozzarella cheese to cover top

Cook gnocchi according to directions. Chop bacon and cook in skillet till crispy. Drain fat. Add garlic and paprika. Then add tomatoes. Simmer for about 5-10 minutes. Add sour cream. Mix gnocchi with tomato sauce. Place in ovenware dish. Top with slices of cheese. Bake 10-15 minutes.

20140723-210037-75637196.jpg

One thought on “Baked Gnocchi With Bacon and Swiss

Leave a Reply

